The Story of a Scarf (post by Suzy)

Traveling over the rolling hills of Rwanda, we head towards Bugesera to visit the school in that area and visit our sponsor sons home.  On the way there we stop at Nyamata Memorial, a church where over 10,000 Tutsi were slaughtered during the genocide.  This is their resting place, a place to honor their memory.  I met a women last time I was their, her name is Serafina – all five of her children were killed in that church.  She returns everyday to sweep the grounds and be with the memory of her children.  When I saw her again today I went to her and hugged her.  I told her I remembered her from two years ago.  We both smiled at each other holding hands.

When my grandmother died just weeks ago I came upon her drawer of scarves – she always liked to wear a beautiful scarf.  I tucked them into a bag with me not really knowing what I might do with so many.  Today is when I realized the purpose of those scarves – to spread my grandmothers love here in Rwanda.  When I saw Serafina wearing a brightly colored dress that matched the blue in the scarf around my neck I immediately took it off and put it around Serafina’s neck.  I told her about my grandmother and how her smile reminded me of her – she told me she was honored to wear it.

When visiting my sponsor sons family later, I wrapped a pink scarf around his grandmothers neck and told her about my grandmother.  I thanked her for taking such good care of my sponsor son, Dieudone.

Hearts wide open…

Suzy at a home visit for our sponsor son.

Suzy at a home visit for our sponsor son.

Austin, Oliver, and Darren helping the kids wash their hands for lunch.

Austin, Oliver, and Darren helping the kids wash their hands for lunch.

Brotherly love!  Darren and his sponsored brother Dieudone.

Brotherly love! Darren and his sponsored brother Dieudone.

Giving one of my grandmothers scarves to my sponsor son's grandmother.

Giving one of my grandmothers scarves to my sponsor son’s grandmother.

 

2 thoughts on “The Story of a Scarf (post by Suzy)

Leave a Reply

